- Wednesdays and Sundays, 12:30 PM to 3:00 PM
- Special tours and small groups can be accommodated with prior notice.
- Museum volunteers are available to give an informational talk about the Hindenburg crash to your local social club or scout troop.
- Call the museum for more details.
- Gift shop
- Free - donations accepted
Lakehurst Historical Society Museum
300 Center Street, Lakehurst, NJ 08733
The Borough of Lakehurst Historical Society Museum maintains a collection of historical artifacts, books, pictures, and documents that provide a record of the rich local history, including charred remnants of the Hindenburg – which burned and crashed in Lakehurst on May 6, 1937 – and items from the Navy’s airship program. The museum is located in the former St. John’s Church, the oldest and first Roman Catholic Church in Ocean County, built by Irish Railroad workers in 1874. On display in the museum are stained glass windows and Stations of the Cross. The museum also features an old jail cell, fire department memorabilia, items and furnishings from the Pine Tree Inn, original paintings, a Jersey Devil replica, seasonal and rotating exhibits, and many other items related to Lakehurst’s past as a winter resort, early industrial community, and the “Airship Capital of the World.” A small research library is also available to help visitors begin their journey through local history.
WHAT TO SEE AND DO
- Travel back in time to learn about Lakehurst’s rich history as the “Airship Capital of the World”
- Explore seasonal and rotating museum exhibits
- Visit the research library on site
Journey through Jersey strives to have the most up-to-date information, but always check with the site itself before planning a visit.